March/April Book Club Update and Next Meeting!

Hello hi, it’s been hot minute! Since the last book club meeting, the world has descended into even more chaos. I guess it’s more of an appropriate time now to delve into some books to escape reality, right?

Last month’s read was Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, a romantic staple on most people’s bookshelves. We had our book club meeting online and a lot of us had already seen the movie adaption, but we can all say the original book version had exceeded our expectations.

We felt a lot of emotions towards all of the characters and found us empathising with them regardless of our opinion (for example, some of us could empathise with the male protagonist and his decisions even though his character was spiteful and mean at most times).

For our discussion, we actually based it all off the questions in the back of the book, made specifically for reading groups! That was a refreshing way to talk about the novel and there were ones that really made us think.

Next up, we have The Alchemyst by Michael Scott to discuss and review! This is one is a book we’re super keen on, as it’s a pretty chill and imaginative book, according to reviews.

When: Tuesday 21st April 2020
5pm AEST
7pm NZT
12am PDT
3am EDT
8am BST
Book: The Alchemyst by Michael Scott
Where: twitch.tv/justkatisfine (live streamed with member engagement through chat)

Everyone is welcome to join the Books That Wander bookclub – you can join our Goodreads bookclub group (which actually needs updating sorry please bare with me) or if you prefer to join in from a viewer’s point, please tune in to the live stream! You’re welcome to chat or just watch. Make sure you bring your favourite cuppa and your pj’s for some comfy book club fun.

See you guys there 🙂


PS – Next month is BYO Comic – more details to come!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s